Heritage Services

County Heritage Services Content

All heritage is local, particularly natural heritage, and local communities are the ultimate custodians of that heritage. The survival of our heritage often depends on action at the local level.

Conservation Officers

The role of the Conservation Officer is to protect the architectural heritage of the county and to implement the provisions of Part IV of the Planning and Development Act 2000. See below for a list of Conservation Officers nationwide:

Clare:
Risteard Ua Croinin
Architectural Conservation Officer
Clare County Council
New Road,
Ennis,
Co. Clare
065-6821616 ext. 409
ruacroinin@clarecoco.ie

Cork City:
Pat Ruane
Architectural Conservation Officer
Cork City Council
Planning Dept.,
City Hall,
Anglesea Street,
Cork
021-4924745 
pat_ruane@corkcity.ie

Cork County:
Mona Hallinan,
Architectural Conservation Officer
Cork County Council
Millview House,
Traveller’s Way,
Victoria’s Cross,
Cork 
021-4818003
mona.hallinan@corkcoco.ie

Donegal:
Claire McCallan
Architectural Conservation Officer
Donegal County Council
Central Planning Unit,
County House,
Lifford,
Co. Donegal
074-9172296 
cmccallan@donegalcoco.ie

Dublin City:
Nicola Matthews
Architectural Conservation Officer
Dublin City Council
Conservation Office,
Civic Offices,
Wood Quay,
Dublin 8
01-2223530
nicola.matthews@dublincity.ie

Clare Hogan 
Assistant Architectural Conservation Officer 
Dublin City Council 
Planning Dept.,
Civic Offices,
Wood Quay,
Dublin 8 
01-2223943
c.hogan@dublincity.ie

Carl Raftery
Conservation Research Officer
Dublin City Council
Planning Dept.,
Civic Offices,
Wood Quay,
Dublin 8
01-2223962
carl.raftery@dublincity.ie

Sarah Halpin
Conservation Research Officer
Dublin City Council
Planning Dept.,
Civic Offices,
Wood Quay,
Dublin 8
01-2225220
sarahjane.halpin@dublincity.ie

Dun Laoghaire Rathdown:
Julie Craig
Architectural Conservation Officer
Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council
County Hall,
Marine Road,
Dun Laoghaire,
Co. Dublin
01-2054700 
juliecraig@dlrcoco.ie

Sinead O'Hara
Architectural Conservation Officer
Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council
County Hall,
Marine Road,
Dun Laoghaire,
Co. Dublin
01-2054803  
sohara@dlrcoco.ie

Fingal:
Fionnuala May
County Architect
Fingal County Council
Architects Dept.,
County Hall,
Swords,
Co. Dublin
01-8905068
fionnuala.may@fingalcoco.ie

Helena Bergin 
Acting Architectural Conservation Officer
Fingal County Council
Architects Dept.,
County Hall,
Swords,
Co. Dublin
01-8906709 
helena.bergin@fingalcoco.ie

Galway:
Mairin Doddy
Architectural Conservation Officer 
Galway County Council 
County Hall,
Prospect Hill,
Galway
091-509197
mdoddy@galwaycoco.ie

Kerry:
Eamon Fleming
Architectural Conservation Officer
Kerry County Council
Aras an chontae
Rathass,
Tralee,
Co. Kerry
eamon.fleming@kerrycoco.ie

Kildare:
Peter Black
Architectural Conservation Officer
Kildare County Council
Aras Chill Dara,
Devoy Park,
Naas,
Co. Kildare
045-980200
pblack@kildarecoco.ie

Kilkenny:
Evelyn Graham
Architectural Conservation Officer
Kilkenny County Council
County Hall,
John Street,
Kilkenny
056-7794153
evelyn.graham@kilkennycoco.ie

Limerick:
Tom Cassidy
Architectural Conservation Officer
Limerick County Council
County Hall,
Dooradoyle,
Limerick 
O61-496310
tcassidy@limerickcoco.ie

Mayo:
Siobhan Sexton
Architectural Conservation Officer
Mayo County Council
Aras an Chontae,
The Mall,
Castlebar,
Co. Mayo
094-9047688
ssexton@mayococo.ie

Meath:
Jill Chadwick
Architectural Conservation Officer
Meath County Council
Abbey Mall,
Abbey Road,
Navan,
Co. Meath
046-9097521
jchadwick@meathcoco.ie

Offaly:
Rachel McKenna
Architectural Conservation Officer
Offaly County Council
Aras an Chontae,
Charleville Road,
Tullamore,
Co. Offaly
057-9346800
rmckenna@offalycoco.ie

South Dublin:
Irenie McLoughlin
Architectural Conservation Officer
South Dublin County Council
PO Box 4122,
Town Centre,
Tallaght,
Dublin 24
01-4149086
imcloughlin@sdublincoco.ie

Waterford City:
Cecily Johnston (On Extended Leave)
Architectural Conservation Officer 
Waterford City Council
Wallace House,
Maritana Gate,
Canada Street,
Waterford
051-849760 
cjohnston@waterfordcity.ie

Waterford County:
Rose Ryall
Architectural Conservation Officer
Waterford County Council
Aras Brugha,
Dungarvan,
Co. Waterford
058-22021 
rryall@waterfordcoco.ie

Westmeath:
Bernadette Solon
Conservation Architect
Westmeath County Council
County Buildings,
Mullingar,
Co. Westmeath
044-9332098
bsolon@westmeathcoco.ie

Wexford:
Diarmuid Houston 
Senior Planner, Acting Architectural Conservation Officer
Wexford County Council 
Planning Dept.,
County Hall,
Wexford 
091-76272
diarmuid.houston@wexfordcoco.ie

No specific Conservation Officer post in following Local Authorities:
Carlow (vacant since summer 2003)
Cavan
Fingal County Council, Conservation Research Officer
Galway City
Laois
Leitrim
Limerick City (vacant since 2003)
Longford
Louth (vacant from 2009)
Mayo
Monaghan
Roscommon (vacant from 2010)
Sligo
Tipperary North Riding
Tipperary South Riding (vacant since Spring 2004)
Wicklow

Back to Top